Skip to content

10 Years : Thankful

Wow! How non-observant am I? Well, I’m pretty good with all kinds of details, but somehow, I almost missed that this month (November 2013) marks 10 years that I’ve been creating jewelry. I found out when one of my customers mentioned it on LinkedIn! I’m thinking that right now is a good time for two things:

1) A rundown on how the past 10 years have been….

In October 2003, a photographer took some beautiful black & white photos of my family. I kept myself up several nights trying to come up with a unique way to have them close to me every day. In November 2003, I had a dream of a bracelet that had tiny versions of my b & w pics in it. The next day, I went to a jewelry supply store to get what I needed to make my first piece of jewelry. That Christmas, I was busy fielding orders from friends and family.

In Spring 2004, I had my first home party then started setting up every week at a local farmers market to sell my handmade jewelry. By then, I was making a range of personalized pieces and customers really connected with the sentimentality of my work. My children were 1 and 6 at the time and I really don’t know how I juggled so much, because at the time I was also working on starting a private practice as a therapist. When I finally let that career go, my jewelry business took off.

‘Deep in my heart’s ocean, I know beauty unseen.’ One of my early personal quotes that showed up on my pieces:)

It wasn’t until Spring 2006 that I started making my fingerprint jewelry. It was a serendipitous moment. I didn’t plan these designs, but once the thought entered my mind, I just knew it was going to be good. Within a short time of making my first Love Touch designs, I participated in numerous events that were well publicized and the attention I received for these designs forced me to come up with a mail kit so that I could create these pieces for customers that lived far from me.

Over the years, I have had many people work for me, mostly moms who could bring their children to work or do their work from home or who could work at events with or for me. I have gone from doing about two events per week, to doing about two per year. I do 95% of my Love Touch orders via mail kit and I am so happy when I get to meet people in person to do the fingerprinting. I have to admit that I really miss meeting customers in person, but I’m thankful that I’ve been able to do a dream job that allows me to be home for my children. I am also grateful for everyone who has believed in me and my art as this is how a little dream was able to touch the lives of thousands of people over the last 10 years.

On a more personal note, this past summer after a couple years of going through some life changes, I moved from Temecula, California, to Portland, Oregon. I have been kind of quiet as I’ve been adjusting to this move, but still keeping very busy with custom orders and I am also a little extra busy since I moonlight as a barre instructor. I’m looking forward to what the New Year brings. My kids are 11 and 16 now…here they are just a few weeks ago:

My Loves & I : Portland, Oregon : Fall 2013

2) Ok, now for the 2nd thing….

To commemorate this 10 year anniversary, when you order through Sunday, 12/1/13, for every $100 you spend (pre-shipping), you’ll receive a $25 e-gift card*.

OR

If you do not place an order, but have ordered in the past, then you can receive a $25 e-gift card simply by emailing your own picture of the TSD piece you purchased (wearing it or not) and a testimonial (what your piece means to you). Email to goodstuff@tinasteinberg.com through 12/1/13.**

Gift cards are one lump sum and will be issued to the email address you provide. It is valid from 12/18/13 – 1/31/14.

>>> www.tinasteinberg.com <<<

* Does not apply to purchases made with a pre-purchased gift card.

**Sending a pic and testimonial permits me to publish such information on my social media accounts. Your name will not be identified. 

……

e.n.j.o.y.

xo, tina

(p.s. come find me on instagram..I tend to play around in that place more than in other places @unordinarymetal🙂

One Comment Post a comment
  1. Kerry Vance #

    Wow Tina! So very generous of you! I can’t decide what piece I will send a photo of…They are all so special!

    November 28, 2013

Leave a Reply

