Skip to content

‘Cork Is Cool’ Customer Spotlight & Double Giveaway!

What a treat we have here! I (Tina) am featuring and collaborating with one of my friends and long time customers, Mari of i.e. CULTURE. In the essence of moving right along, here is her story followed by the details of our giveaway <insert ‘woo hoo!’ here>:

You will love this on your wrist!

Mari of i.e. CULTURE

“Hello there. My name is Mari (“Mar-ee”). Born in Central California, I spent a good chunk of my adult life living out of a suitcase in different parts of the world working as a fashion model. I grew up loving art and design and have tried my hand at abstract painting and various degrees of accessory design. I knew at some point in my lifetime I would leave my mark as a designer, but I didn’t know what that was going to look like. Now, in my mid-forties, my chance has finally arrived…

I met Tina about 9 years ago when I first moved to Southern California. Tina made me a gorgeous silver bracelet that had Joan of Arc’s quote, “I am not afraid, I was born to do this”, inscribed on it. Over time I lost that bracelet, but to this day I always repeat that quote, especially when things are challenging. As I approached a new chapter in my life, I wanted to create a business that would allow me to express myself through wearable art. I knew very little about making jewelry, let alone running my own business. But, I had this incredible desire to share my passion of conscious living and that Joan of Arc quote and that was enough for me.

I am not afraid. I was born to do this.

I’ve worn many hats in my lifetime and have experienced things that as a child, I only used to dream about. The glamorous parts are that I’ve traveled the world, experienced great jobs, ran marathons, developed meaningful and profound friendships, and found love and peace within myself. The not so glamorous bits are having had crappy jobs, starting over as a single mom, losing some of those meaningful friendships and the passing of my mother after a lengthy illness. I’ve had many ups and downs through life and all of that put together has made me the woman I am today.

Today, I am a mom to two amazing, energetic little boys. I have two dogs and a charming home in a peaceful neighborhood. I have a great man in my life that I get to wake up to every morning that inspires me to do great things. We, as a family, start our day by making green drinks. We do our part for the planet by “if it’s yellow let it mellow, if it’s brown, flush it down”. We reduce, reuse AND recycle. We do our best to feed ourselves nutritionally and spiritually, despite a little indulgence here and there. And, after taking some time off from running, I’m back on the streets and training for the 2011 NYC marathon this November <gulp>.

Here’s the end result – I’ve turned all that life experience into producing unique jewelry – cuff bracelets made out of sustainable cork. I love anything unusual, especially if it is earth friendly. I combine this eco-friendly cork with recycled glass and stone and create jewelry that represents me and my mood for that day. Each piece is handmade, one-of-a-kind. And, at no extra charge, each cuff comes with 100% love and gratitude!

I have come a long way to get to here. I’ve never felt happier or more complete. i.e. CULTURE was started with the idea of creating something hip and sustainable. This idea flourished into the CULTURE CORK CUFF.

Thank you for coming on this part of my journey with me. ‘

-Mari, Los Angeles

………………………….

Now a little drum roll please…...You have a chance to win one of Mari’s gorgeous cuffs (top pic, value $42) AND Tina’s Petite Joan of Arc Necklace (value $80). This is all you have to do:

1. You are automatically entered by giving a thumbs up to our 9/28 postings about this giveaway on our Facebook page “Tina Steinberg Designs”. Follow up with an email to goodstuff @ tinasteinberg.com by midnight PST 9/28/11 so we can contact you if you win (put ‘Cork Is Cool‘ in the subject line). Winner will be contacted on 9/29/11.

2. Additional entries are given when you ‘like’ & comment on Mari’s Facebook page i.e. CULTURE. Tagging Tina’s page in your comments is much appreciated!

Good Luck All!

(p.s. find Mari’s Etsy Shop here.)

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Yes, Cork is Cool:)!

    September 28, 2011
  2. Leslie Sciocchetti #

    Love it!

    September 28, 2011
  3. Susan Tyler #

    I wear my bracelet every day. I love it and feel peaceful with it on.. its from the earth and made with lots of love. thank you Mari for following this dream… susan tyler

    September 28, 2011

Leave a Reply

